• The Heritage Network
    • Resize:
    • A
    • A
    • A
  • Donate
  • Ed Feulner Wins Bradley Prize

    Edwin J. Feulner, who has led The Heritage Foundation to its current international prominence among think tanks, is among four winners of the 2012 Bradley Prize for outstanding achievement, the Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation announced today.

    “Ed Feulner has elevated the influence of conservative research institutions,” Michael W. Grebe, the Milwaukee-based Bradley Foundation’s president and chief executive officer, said in the announcement. “Under his guidance, The Heritage Foundation has become a bastion of ideas that are an integral part of the national conversation and have shaped public policy.”

    In 1973, Feulner co-founded Heritage as a rapid-response policy research institute, hoping to fill a need on Capitol Hill for reliable information and analysis to advance conservative ideas – a shortcoming he’d identified as a congressional aide. He has nurtured the think tank’s growth in expertise, influence and rapidity of response since 1977, when he became Heritage’s president.

    Feulner and three other 2012 Bradley Prize recipients, to be named later, will be honored June 7 during a ceremony in Washington at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Each award carries a stipend of $250,000.

    “The Bradley brothers believed that the good society is a free society,” Feulner said. “Learning of this honor from those who carry on the Bradley legacy really put me on cloud nine.”

    And that’s saying something from a man whose awards include the Presidential Citizens Medal, presented to Feulner in 1989 by President Reagan.

    The Bradley Foundation, founded in 1985, is dedicated to strengthening American democratic capitalism and the institutions, principles and values that sustain it. It is widely known for its support of scholarly studies and academic achievement.

    The Bradley Prizes formally recognize individuals of “extraordinary talent and dedication who have made contributions of excellence” consistent with the mission of the Bradley Foundation. Up to four prizes are awarded annually to “innovative thinkers and practitioners whose achievements strengthen the legacy of the Bradley brothers and the ideas to which they were committed.”

    A nine-member selection committee considered nominations from more than 200 prominent Americans before choosing Feulner and three other winners. Among those on the panel: previous prize recipients Robert P. George, Alan Charles Kors, Charles Krauthammer, Shelby Steele and George F. Will.

    Posted in Ongoing Priorities [slideshow_deploy]

    One Response to Ed Feulner Wins Bradley Prize

    1. saveamerica says:

      Mr. Fuelner sure fits the criteria> The Heritage Foundation, it's writers are so important to this country and worldwide> The Bradley foundation is certainly a judge of excellent character promoting self respect* and the common good*
      Congratulations Mr. Fuelner> Excellent choice if I may say so myself<

    Comments are subject to approval and moderation. We remind everyone that The Heritage Foundation promotes a civil society where ideas and debate flourish. Please be respectful of each other and the subjects of any criticism. While we may not always agree on policy, we should all agree that being appropriately informed is everyone's intention visiting this site. Profanity, lewdness, personal attacks, and other forms of incivility will not be tolerated. Please keep your thoughts brief and avoid ALL CAPS. While we respect your first amendment rights, we are obligated to our readers to maintain these standards. Thanks for joining the conversation.

    Big Government Is NOT the Answer

    Your tax dollars are being spent on programs that we really don't need.

    I Agree I Disagree ×

    Get Heritage In Your Inbox — FREE!

    Heritage Foundation e-mails keep you updated on the ongoing policy battles in Washington and around the country.